Phone

Contact sales: +1 (833) 441 7687

Rolling back unwanted changes in a Salesforce deployment

Jason Mann on June 22nd 2016


Rolling back changes in Salesforce is normally a difficult, slow and frustrating process in which developers and admins must revert changes one at a time. But all that pain goes away when you start using Gearset.

You can easily roll back changes from any deployment made through Gearset in a few clicks - whether that's reverting the entire package or only a few specific items. And you can manage the whole process through our intuitive user interface.

Rollback is tricky - but not with Gearset

Rolling back changes in Salesforce isn't simply a case of reversing what you deployed. Creating and then removing changes can impact a wider set of objects than just the items in your original deployment package as a result of dependencies. This means that simply 'undoing' the deployment won't always work, and this is where other approaches to rollback falter.

Gearset's deep understanding of the metadata in your orgs means it can resolve these complications. When you perform a rollback with Gearset, new object dependencies created by the original deployment are automatically identified, making the rollback process faster and more reliable. You can easily select the changes you want to revert, including any dependencies, and quickly complete the rollback.

How to roll back a deployment with Gearset

First, find the deployment you want to roll back from your deployment history, and click Roll back.

Pick a deployment to roll back

Gearset will then compare the org's current state with a snapshot of the org taken just before the original deployment you want to roll back. From this comparison, you can then choose exactly which changes to roll back. In this example, there's a static resource I deployed that I now want to delete.

Choose which changes to roll back

After selecting the items to roll back, click Next to be taken to the pre-deployment summary. Then click Deploy now to complete the rollback process, or validate the rollback changes first by clicking Validate deployment.

Confirm and validate the rollback prior to release

After successfully rolling back your changes, your rollback deployment will be stored in your deployment history - tagged as a rollback. Like any other deployment in your history, you can view the usual deployment report, download the deployment package, and even roll back the rollback if you wish!

View previous rollbacks in your deployment history

Want to try Gearset's rollback feature?

Access to Gearset's rollback option comes with our Enterprise license. If you'd like to upgrade from a Pro license in order to get access to rollback and other Enterprise features, email us at [email protected]. New users can try out rollback for free, along with all other parts of the app, by starting a 30-day trial of Gearset.

Ready to get started with Gearset?

  • Free 30-day trial
  • No credit card required
  • Nothing to install in your orgs
Start free trial
  • Free 30-day trial
  • No credit card required
  • Nothing to install in your orgs